top of page

Tudor Pro Cycling Celebrates Four National Titles

German Marco Brenner and Swedish Jacob Eriksson won the National Championships on the road while Arthur Kluckers won the TT National Championships in Luxemburg, and Fabian Weiss retained his U23 TT title.  



In Germany, Marco Brenner was part of the five-men breakaway which animated the day since km 20. The front group became a duo at 35km to go, and the young German went clear on the final climb, riding solo for the last 7km of the race and taking the win. This victory marks his first Elite National title, after winning the Junior title in 2019 and 2020. 


“The race went so well," explained Marco. "The plan was to follow the Bora-Hansgrohe riders and when I saw there was a good group going out after 20km, I realized it could be a great one and I joined them. We rode together quite well till 70km to go, when I tried to attack hoping one Bora guy would follow me. As nobody did, I waited for them till I was left with Lipowitz with 35km to go. I went full gas in the last climb and could enjoy a solo victory. It is very special to get this title at such a young age. After my two titles as a junior, it was my dream to make it also among the pros, but I didn’t expect to reach this so early in my career.” 


Tudor Pro Cycling Marco Brenner National German Champion 2024
Tudor Pro Cycling Jacob Eriksson National Swedish Champion 2024

In Sweden, Jacob Eriksson was also part of a nine then four-men breakaway in the day and the win was claimed in a sprint. The younger Eriksson takes his first professional win and first Elite National title, following in his older brother Lucas’ footsteps. The latter, already winner of four titles, was sick and did not start.  


 “With Lucas not starting this year, I really wanted to keep the jersey in the family and the team” said Jacob. “In the last years, it was already a difficult race being only me and Lucas supporting each other, but this year all alone it was even harder. I was not very confident before the race, also seeing the flat course, but Lucas supported me well, and I had all my family and friends around. The plan was to collaborate with other riders also racing alone, and when I saw a small group taking the lead, I didn’t want to miss it. With six laps to go, as the break didn’t really work well together, I attacked to make a selection at the front, and we remained four guys, two of the same team. In the last two kms the two riders from the same team started attacking one after the other. I bridged the gap two times, till the last attack turned out to be my perfect leadout. I launched my sprint with 300m remaining and won. I am very happy of my first Elite win, finally I am not a junior anymore.” 


Earlier in the week, Arthur Kluckers won the TT national title in Luxemburg while Fabian Weiss retained the U23 TT title in Switzerland.  

Tudor Pro Cycling Fabian Weiss Arthur Kluckers National Champion 2024

Team Owner Fabian Cancellara is very proud of the results. “A national championships road race is always tricky and winning it is very special. Marco showed a daring and strong performance with a solo attack 7 km away from the finish thwarting the plans of better-represented teams. On his side, Jacob managed to cope with the pressure on his shoulders to keep the Swedish jersey in his family and in the team. When it comes to the TT, the clock doesn’t lie: the strongest wins. Arthur and Fabian’s titles are deserved. Wearing the colors of your own country for a year means a lot to a rider and I am very happy that these four riders get to experience this. I really look forward to seeing them racing in these beautiful jerseys.” 

Podiums for Simon Pellaud, Aivaras Mikutis and Tim Rey 

The road races events also saw Simon Pellaud claim the silver medal at the Swiss Championships while U23 rider Aivaras Mikutis finished second of the Lithuanian Championships in the Elite category.  

Aivaras also took silver in the Lithuanian U23 TT event and Tim Rey shared the Swiss TT podium with Fabian Weiss walking away with a bronze medal.   

Photos: Sprint Cycling, Anouk Flesch, and Johan Linhart


bottom of page